Abundance Abundance Abundance!

The largest part of starting this blog was influenced mainly by the fact that I know so many people who diet the wrong way. Not only that, but I, too, had been brainwashed to think that restricting calories and over-exercising was the right way to do it. The list goes on, too… caloric deficits, constant weighing, forbidding yourself of certain foods. It’s truly CRAP, ladies and gentlemen. And it doesn’t work.

This way of dieting ultimately harms not only your body, but also your mental health. When you start restricting your calories and not allowing yourself to eat when hungry, you are lacking your nutrients, you are lacking the energy that food gives you. Why would we strive to stay away from food, when we need food to survive? Calories, carbs, and fats are what we NEED to survive. We need not be afraid of these things. Sadly so, media has brainwashed us into thinking that all carbs are bad, everything needs to be “fat free”, and that we have to eat a certain number of calories everyday. And if we go over these limits, we need to restrict even more.

The fact of the matter is, as humans, we can truly eat as much as we want. Of course, if you’re aiming to lose weight and become healthier, portion control is necessary, but can be taken to an extreme very easily. It’s important to work with a nutritionist or any health professional/doing extensive research before making changes to your everyday diet in this way. Without the proper guidance or knowledge, you can put yourself on the path to an eating disorder.

When it comes down to it, you can never go wrong with fruits and veggies. They are truly the healthiest foods for you and you can indulge on them freely. Now, you may be thinking to yourself, “But I don’t like fruits or vegetables. How do I start?” I was in the same boat. I had been a vegetarian all my life, but I was more of a junk food vegetarian- wasn’t a huge fan of health foods! As I grew older and social media became more prevalent in my life, I discovered this little thing called Pinterest… and it’s pretty much my entire life for finding new amazing and healthy recipes! I urge everyone and anyone to make a Pinterest account and search search search! I’ve found some of my favorite meals on Pinterest- they are 100% healthy, nutritious, and you can indulge as you wish.

Please remember, everyone, that when you are trying to lose weight, restriction is not the answer. It’s been proven time and time again that after a long period of restriction, once you begin to eat normally again, you will gain the weight back faster than you lost it, and even more! We want to keep the weight off permanently, no? So, start by thinking in abundance, not in restriction. Your mind, body, and soul will thank you in the long run. 🙂

Here’s my favorite recipe from Pinterest to share with you all. (I modified the recipe a little bit for myself to make it wholly vegan!)

Leave a Reply

